Field Security

On the Field Security page, administrators can hide fields, limit access to specific fields based on user roles, and assign particular roles the ability to access certain data. This page displays a list of all of the entities and fields available in Nakisa Org Chart, Nakisa Operational Org Design, and Nakisa Strategic Org Design.

With this role-based field group security, users will only be able to see what is pertinent to their role. This safeguards sensitive data and allows everyone to work with confidence.

Note: This page does not change what functionality each role is permitted to do.

This page also allows administrators to configure field security for up to ten custom roles, tailoring them to specific business needs.

Warning: Disabling mandatory fields or fields with logic dependencies will cause errors in the system. If you have caused errors that you cannot resolve manually, use the revert or reset options.

To configure field security:

  1. From the Main Menu, click Admin > Field Security.
  2. The table contains rows of entities, which you can expand to view their fields. These entities and fields can be configured per role.
    • To add another role to configure, scroll to the right, click and select the required role.
  3. To enable or disable fields for a particular role, select either the entity to select all fields in it, or expand the entity and select the required fields. Select one of the following options: 
    • ALLOW: The role is allowed to view or use the field.
    • DENY: The role is not allowed to view the field.
    • AOR: The role is allowed to view or use the field based on the configured area of responsibility (AOR) condition. To view or configure the condition:
      1. Click the drop-down menu beside the name of the role.
      2. Select AOR Condition.
      3. Select a Condition from the drop-down list:
        • Self and below: The user will see information about themselves and the org objects below them.
        • Below only: The user will not see information about themselves, they will only see information about the org objects below them.
  4. To copy the field access settings from one role to another: 
    1. Click the drop-down menu on the name of the role you wish to copy.
    2. Select Copy to.
    3. In the Destination Column drop-down, select the role that you would like to copy the settings to.
    4. Click OK. The entity/field access is copied over to the destination role.

    Note: This action only transfers the field-level access outlined in this table, and does not the predefined functionality-level access associated with each role. It also does not copy the configured AOR Condition.

  5. To disable an entity or field for all roles, clear the checkbox. The row changes to "Disabled" under each role, and will not be available at all in any of the three applications.
  6. After completing all of your changes, click Save at the top of the page. A confirmation window appears, summarizing all modifications compared to the current configuration.
    1. Review all of the changes (listed by role). If there is an error and you want to undo that change, click the trashcan icon to discard it. It immediately disappears from the list.
    2. Once you are happy to proceed with the remaining changes, click Save.

    Note: It may take a few minutes for all security adjustments to take effect due to caching in the system.

To revert or reset field security:

If at any time you would like to undo changes made to the roles, the following options are available: 

  1. To fully reset all configuration to the original defaults available out of the box for all roles, click at the top of the page.

    Warning: All custom security configuration will be lost.

  2. To fully reset only one role, click the drop-down menu on the name of the required role, and select Reset to defaults. All custom security configuration for this one role will be lost.
  3. To revert the unsaved changes for one role, click the drop-down menu on the name of the required role, and select Revert changes. The configuration settings changed since the last save are undone.

Nakisa Org Chart - Nakisa Operational Org Design 2026.R1 © 2026

Nakisa Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.