About Data Retention

Before functional or technical administrators can manage data retention for master agreements, contracts, vendors, and users, the Data Retention Policy must first be configured in the Master Data Configuration.

  • Data Retention Period: Determines how long objects are going to be kept.
  • Object Deactivation: Configure the deactivation date for users and vendors.
    • These objects can be deleted after the configured Retention Period.
    • Once the system date passes the Deactivation Date, the deactivated users and vendors will no longer be selectable in master agreements and contracts.
  • Retention Exception Object: Configure the objects that will never expire. Note that this table takes precedence over both of the other tables.

The scheduled job "Data Retention Expired Object Search" must run to identify expired objects. Objects will expire as follows:

  • Master agreements: Once the MLA is closed, it expires after the configured MLA retention period.
  • Contracts: Once the contract is closed, it expires after the configured contract retention period.
  • Vendors: A vendor expires once the configured vendor retention period passes its configured Deactivation Date.
  • Users: A user expires once the configured user retention period passes its configured Deactivation Date.

Once objects have expired, they are listed in the Expired Objects module. Administrators can then delete these objects from the application database. Note that the objects are not deleted from the logs and RFC trace, but all logs and traces are automatically rolled after a configured period or number of lines. Administrators can delete expired objects under the following conditions:

  • Master agreements: Expired MLAs can be deleted if there are no contracts attached to it.
  • Contracts: Any expired contracts can be deleted.
  • Vendors: Expired vendors can be deleted if they are not attached to any contract or master agreement (on the Partner pages).
  • Users: Expired users can be deleted if they are not attached to any contract or master agreement (on the Partner pages).

If required, the scheduled job "Data Retention Expired Object Delete" can be configured to automatically delete expired objects.

Note: If an object has been configured in the Retention Exception Object table, it will never expire, and it therefore cannot be deleted.

To review and delete expired objects:

  1. Click Application Menu > Expired Objects.
  2. The top-right of the page indicates the last time the scheduled job was run to detect expired objects.
    • Click Refresh to update the information.
    • If required, manually run the "Data Retention Expired Object Search" job on the Schedule Jobs page to search for the latest expired objects.
  3. Navigate through the four tabs for User, Vendor, Master Agreement, and Contract to view the expired objects.
    • Deactivation Date: The close date for the contract or master agreement, or the configured deactivation date for the user or vendor.
    • Retention Days: The configured retention period for each object.
    • Expiration Date: The date when the objects have expired (Deactivation Date + Retention Days).
    • Expired Days: How long have the objects been expired.
    • Where Used: In the User and Vendor tabs, click to load the Where Used module with the object auto-populated in the search field.
  4. Administrators can delete expired objects individually, or all at once.
    • Click to delete a specific expired object.
    • Click the Delete All Expired button on each individual tab to delete the expired objects listed on that particular tab.
    • Click Delete All Expired Objects to delete all of the expired objects on all of the tabs.

    Note: The application confirms which objects were deleted, as well as the ones that could not be deleted. The ones that cannot be deleted remain in the Expired Objects module.

  5. If the objects can be deleted, the application will delete them from the application database, which includes the record for the expired object in the Expired Objects module, as well all instances of the user/vendor object in the Master Data Configuration. The summary pop-up will indicate the objects that have been deleted.
  6. If the objects cannot be deleted, the summary pop-up will indicate which objects cannot be deleted (for example, the user or vendor is used currently used on a contract or MLA Partners page).

See also:  

Nakisa Lease Administration 2022.R2-SP1 © 2023

 

 

Nakisa Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.